DISCOVER KHOPRA

The Khayer Lake Trek is a new trekking trail in the Annapurna region. It is located between the classic Annapurna Base Camp and the Jomsom hiking trail. It is a beautiful trail to discover the culture of the Gurung and Magar ethnic groups. It also gives exceptional views of several peaks such as Mt Dhaulagiri, Annapurna, and Nilgiri.

In addition to the picturesque variety of peaks and the warm hospitality of the Gurung people, the Khayer Lake Trek takes us off the beaten track in the Annapurna region, via ridges, and through the rhododendron forest. From Pokhara, our journey begins in the mid-temperate region of the wooded hills with Gurung and Magar villages.

We will walk on Khopra’s crest, nestled in the hollow of the Annapurna chain. From there, we head to the sacred lake of Khayer. It gives us a wonderful alpine experience. While returning back to Pokhara, we will pass by the famous viewpoint of Poon Hill.

-

Gallery

Itinerary

  • Level of Trek: Moderate
  • Best Period: April - May & September - November
  • Duration: 13 Days
  • Number of walking days: 8
  • Highest Altitude: 4827 Meters
  • Flights: Pokhara - Kathmandu
  • Accomodation: Hotel in Kathmandu & Lodge during trek

For your next trek with us in the Himalayas, travel light and aware: Base Camp offers you a biodegradable soap made in Nepal, to leave no trace ...

Day
Airport pick-up, transfer to the hotel and check-in. Then, visit Swayambhunath, a Buddhist temple dominating the Kathmandu valley
- Accommodation: Hotel
- Meals on own

Morning transfer to Nagarkot to enjoy the sunrise. Then, drive to the wonderful pedestrian city of Bhaktapur, 15 km far from Kathmandu. It is considered the most beautiful of the three royal towns in the Kathmandu valley. We discover the city and spend the night in Bhaktapur to enjoy the city when all the visitors left.
- Accommodation: Guesthouse
- Meals on own

Drive to Bandipur, a traditional Newar merchant village. in good weather, we can have a great view of the Himalayas.
- Accommodation: Old Inn

After breakfast, we drive to Nayapul with a private vehicle. It takes about 2.5 hours. From Nayapul, we walk to Ghandruk, along the Modi Khola River. We spend the night in the beautiful village of Ghandruk.
- Hours of driving: 2.5
- Hours of walking: 4 to  5
- Accommodation: Lodge

After breakfast we start our trek, The trail goes up through a subtropical forest, we can also see domestic animals like buffaloes and cows.
We rest in Tadapani where we can enjoy breathtaking panoramic views of Hiunchuli and Machhapuchhre.
- Hours of walking: 4 to 5  
- Accommodation: Lodge
After breakfast, our trek starts by the sub hiking trail of Khopra and Khayer lake to follow a less-known trail in the thick jungle. The path gradually climbs to Dobato.
- Hours of walking: 4 to 5
- Accommodation: Lodge

After breakfast, for an hour, we follow a ridge marking out the districts of Myagdi and Kaski, to reach Bayali. From there, the path goes up and down several times through white rhododendrons and bamboo groves. There live Danphé, Ghoral and Bharal Durango, numerous other birds and also brown bears.
The most direct path is sometimes dizzying as it crosses a rock bar at the foot of the Southern Annapurna. If the weather is not good, there is a longer alternative path to Chistibung. From there, 30 min walk on the mountainside by a narrow path to reach the Khopra flat on a spur overlooking the valleys on three different sides. We can enjoy a splendid view of Dhaulagiri just opposite, Nilgiri in the North, the peak of Barahi Shikhar and Annapurna South in the East. The site also serves as a sheepfold for herds of yaks.
- Hours of walking: 5 to 6
- Accommodation: Lodge

It's a whole day walk to Khayer Lake. Khayer Lake is one of the Hindus’ holy lakes. It is visited during the auspicious occasion of Janai Purnima (full moon in July-August). It lies in the foot of Barahi Shikhar.
- Hours of walking: 8 to 9
- Accommodation: Lodge
We turn back to Chistibung. We continue our descent under a very dense vegetal cover by a quite steep path to a waterfall. Nearby,  we cross the river on a small wooden bridge. From there, after 30 min of a steep climb, we reach the only tea-house restaurant "Evergreen". Once again, the continuation of the path is steep with some clearings and a more sparse forest.
- Hours of walking: 5
- Accommodation: Lodge
The trek goes down to a river and then, via Chitre, goes up to Ghorepani where we reach the tourist path. Afternoon if the weather is good then we can take an optional climb to Poon Hill to avoid the crowd.
- Hours of walking: 5
- Accommodation: Lodge
Early in the morning, we hike up to Poon Hill to enjoy the magnificent panorama of Southern Annapurna, Tilicho, Huinchuli, and Dhaulagiri. We return to the lodge after breakfast and descend to Nayapul via Ulleri and Tikhedhunga. Transfer to Pokhara (1h30) and overnight at the hotel of lakeside.
- Hours of walking: 5
- Hours of driving: 1.5
- Accommodation: Lake View Resort

flight to Kathmandu. during flight on the left, side we can enjoy a beautiful view of the Annapurna. after arriving in Kathmandu we visit Patan, one of the three ancient royal cities of the Kathmandu Valley, mostly Buddhist, known for its statue smelters. Then, we visit the stupa of Boudhanath around which many monasteries have been built. Overnight in Bodhnath.
- Flight duration: 25 min
- Accommodation: Guest House at Boudhanath on a B&B basis

Transfer to the airport for international flight back.
End of our services.

What's included

- Transfers by private vehicles in Kathmandu
- 1 night at the Moonlight B&B hotel in Kathmandu
- 1 night in Dundrup Guest House on a B&B basis
- 1 night at the Lake Side Resort Hotel on a B&B basis in Pokhara
- 1 night at the Old Inn Hotel with half board in Bandipur
- 1 night at Shiva Guest House with half board in Bhaktapur
- English-speaking guide for the whole trek
- 8 days full board trek in lodge
- Luggage carrying up to 13 kg/person during the trek
- Trekking permit (ACAP + TIMS)
- Flight Pokhara – Kathmandu
- Domestic airport tax
- Entrance tickets to sites during visits to Kathmandu

What's not included

- Meals (+ or - 10 US $ / meal in Kathmandu and Pokhara)
- International flights
- Visa for Nepal: 30 US $ for 15 days
- Compulsory repatriation insurance
- Tips, personal expenses, and equipment, drinks, hot showers, recharging of batteries during the trek, etc

Question? Make an inquiry or call (977-1) 441 55 73

KHOPRA TREK

Khayer Lake Trek est un nouveau sentier de trekking dans la région de l'Annapurna, situé entre le camp de base classique d'Annapurna et le sentier de randonnée de Jomsom. C'est une belle route de trekking avec la culture des ethnies Gurungs et Magar et des vues exceptionnelles sur de nombreux sommets dont le mont Dhaulagiri, Annapurna et Nilgiri.

Outre la variété pittoresque des sommets, l'hospitalité chaleureuse du peuple Gurung, le trek de Khayer Lake nous amène bien hors sentiers battus dans la région de l'Annapurna, via des crêtes et à travers la forêt de rhododendrons. De Pokhara notre voyage commence dans la région d’altitude moyenne et tempérée des collines boisées et villages Gurung et Magar.
Nous irons jusqu’à la crête de Khopra blotti au creux de la chaine des Annapurna. De là, nous marchons jusqu'au lac sacré de Khayer, offrant une merveilleuse expérience alpine. Lors du retour à Pokhara nous passerons par le célèbre point de vue de Poon Hill.

Itinéraire

  • Difficulté: Modere
  • Saison optimale: Avril - Mai & Septembre - Novembre
  • Durée : 13
  • Nombre total de jours de trek: 8 Jours
  • Vols: Pokhara - Katmandou
  • Hébergement: Hôtel à Kathmandou & Lodge pendant le trek
Pour votre prochain trek avec nous en Himalaya, voyagez léger et en conscience : Base Camp vous offre un savon biodégradable fabriqué au Népal, pour ne laisser aucune trace…
Journée

Accueil à l'aéroport et transfert à l'hôtel. Installation puis visite de Swayambhunath, le stupa bouddhiste dominant la vallée de Katmandou.
- Hébergement : Hôtel
- Repas libres

Le matin transfert à Nagarkot pour le lever du soleil, puis route pour la somptueuse cité piétonne de Bhaktapur, à 15km de Katmandou. Considérée comme la plus belle des trois villes impériales de la vallée de Katmandou.
Découverte de la ville et nuit à Bhaktapur pour profiter de la cité quand tous les visiteurs sont partis !
- Hébergement : Guest House
- Repas libres

Route pour Bandipur, somptueux village de commerçants Newars. Superbe vue sur la chaine himalayenne.
Nous serons hébergés en maison d'hôte, chambres simples aménagées à proximité de la résidence de notre hôte.
- Hébergement : Old Inn

Après le petit-déjeuner, nous vous conduisons à Nayapul en véhicule privé à environ 2h30 de Bandipur. Nous marchons jusqu'à Ghandruk, le long de la Modi Khola jusqu'à Seuli puis nous passons la nuit au beau village de Ghandruk.
- Nombre d'heure de route : 2h30
- Nombre d'heure de marche : 4-5h
- Hébergement : Lodge 

Le trek commence après le petit déjeuner, les sentiers montent à travers une forêt subtropicale peuplée de singes entelles, nous sommes au pays des chasseurs de miel. Le long du sentier, nous pouvons également voir des animaux domestiqués comme des buffles et des vaches.
Repos à Tadapani où nous pourrons profiter des vues panoramiques à couper le souffle sur l'Hiunchuli et le Macchapuchhre.
- Nombre d'heure de marche : 4-5h   
- Hébergement : Lodge 

Après le petit-déjeuner, le trekking commence en quittant le sentier de randonnée principal de Ghorepani, Poon Hill, pour suivre un sentier peu connu dans une jungle épaisse. Le sentier grimpe progressivement jusqu'au petit col où se trouvent quelques maisons.
- Nombre d'heure de marche : 4-5h
- Hébergement : Lodge 

Après le petit-déjeuner, nous suivons pendant une heure, une crête délimitant les districts de Myagdi et Kaski pour arriver à Bayali. De là le chemin monte et descend à plusieurs reprises à travers les rhododendrons blancs et les bambouseraies peuplés de Danphé, Ghoral et Bharal Durango, nombreux autres oiseaux et aussi d'ours bruns. 
Le sentier le plus direct s’avère parfois vertigineux comme il coupe transversalement une barre rocheuse au pied de l’Annapurna sud, si la météo n’est pas bonne il existe un sentier alternatif plus long jusqu’à Chistibung. De là 30min de marche à flanc de montagne par un sentier étroit pour arriver au replat de Khopra sur un éperon dominant les vallées sur 3 côtés. Vue splendide sur le Dhaulagiri juste en face, le Nilgiri au Nord le pic du Barahi Suikhar et l’Annapurna Sud plein Est. Le site sert aussi de bergerie à des troupeaux de yaks.
- Nombre d'heure de marche : 5-6h
- Hébergement : Lodge 

C'est une journée d’excursion au lac Khayer. Ce lac sacré fait l’objet d’un pèlerinage hindou à l'occasion du Janai Purnima (pleine lune du mois de juillet-août). Nous sommes aux pieds du Barahi Sikhar.
- Nombre d'heure de marche : 8-9h
- Hébergement : Lodge

Nous rebroussons chemin jusqu'à Chistibung puis continuons à descendre  sous un couvert végétal très dense par un sentier parfois escarpé jusqu’à une cascade près de laquelle on traverse la rivière sur un petit pont de bois. De là, après 30min de montée raide, nous atteignons le seul tea-house restaurant  « Evergreen ».
La poursuite du chemin est assez raide avec quelques clairières et une forêt plus éparse.
- Nombre d'heure de marche : 5h
- Hébergement : Lodge 

Le trek descend jusqu’à une rivière pour remonter ensuite via Chitre jusqu’à Ghorepani où on récupère les axes plus touristiques. Montée facultative à Poon Hill pour éviter la foule du lendemain matin.
- Nombre d’heure de marche : 5h
- Hébergement : Lodge

Montée tôt le matin à la colline de Poon Hill pour profiter du magnifique panorama sur les Annapurna sud, Tilicho, Huinchuli et le Dhaulagiri. Retour à l'auberge, après le petit déjeuner, descente à Nayapul via Ulleri, Tikhedhunga. Transfert à Pokhara (1h30) puis nuit là-bas.
- Nombre d’heure de marche : 5h
- Nombre d’heure de route : 1h30
- Hébergement : Lake View Resort

Le matin vol matinal pour Katmandou, belle vue sur les Annapurna. Puis visite de Patan, l'une des trois anciennes cités impériales de la vallée de Katmandou, principalement bouddhiste, connue pour ses artisans fondeurs de statues. Ensuite visite du grand stupa de Bodhnath situé au coeur du quartier tibétain où se sont construits de nombreux monastères de l'exil. Nuit à Bodhnath.
- Temps de vol : 25min
- Hébergement : Guest House à Bodnath en BB

Transfert à l'aéroport pour le vol retour.
Fin de nos services.

Comprend

- Les transferts en véhicule privé à Katmandu
- Transfert Pokhara- Koramukh en 4x4 privé
- 1 nuit à l’hotel Moonlight en BB à Katmandu
- 1 nuit à Dundrup GH en BB
- 1 nuit à l’hôtel Lake Side Resort en BB à Pokhara
- 1 nuit à l’hôtel Old Inn en demi-pension à Bandipur
- 1 nuit à Shiva Guest House en demi-pension à Bhaktapur
- Guide culturel francophone pour l’ensemble de trek
- 8 jours de trek en pension complète en lodge
- Portage de bagage jusqu’au 13 kg/personne durant le trek
- Permis de trek (ACAP + TIMS)
- Vol Pokhara – Katmandu
- Taxe d’aéroport domestique
- Entrées des sites lors des visites à Katmandou

Ne comprend pas

- Les repas (+ ou - 10 US $/repas à Katmandu et à Pokhara)
- Vol international
- Visa Népal : 25 US $ pour 15 jours
- Assurance rapatriement obligatoire
- Pourboires, dépenses personnelles et équipement, boissons, douches chaudes, rechargement de batteries durant le trek etc.

Supplements

Supplément par chambre individuelle pour 3 nuits d'hôtel : €150
Besoin de nous contacter? Faire une demande Ou téléphonez au (977-1) 441 55 73